Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Dec 15th, 2017, 4:07am
Home Help Search Login Register
[ TIDE TABLES ]  ***  [ STOCKING REPORTS ]  ***  [ BUY FISHING LICENSE ]

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Nacimento Drainage (Read 958 times)
SG

Nacimento Drainage
Oct 8th, 2007, 4:55pm

Heya gang,

Thanks for the invite.  Just wanted to say hello and my plan is to attend the meeting tomorrow if work permits.

Couple of things, One is I am new to fly fishing, but Im already in love with it.  

I spent 8 hours on the Nacimento Drainage, I didn't land any trout, but my friend I went with caught a nice 13" bow.

They dp plant trout there, last plant was on Sept 9th, there still quite a few in there.    
If you dont know where im talking about, its on Camp Roberts property. You go past Camp Roberts to the 2nd exit which is East Garrison. get off the freeway take a left at the stop sign. Theres a small gate there that you show your Drivers License, Registration and insurrance.  Then u pay $15 to the fish and game guy and away you go.  Hours 6am - 6pm,  

Oh I did catch a 6" small white bass, first fish ever on a fly rod Woooooooooo.  Grin ill put the picture up on here, the bass is the thing thats about the size of my thumb.   Grin

Its a seasonal fishing spot opens April - October, season ends Oct 21.  I plan to go back for the next 2 weeks because there was not alot of people out there and the water was great.   Its a little murky but what isnt around here.  

Anyways, Im still trying to learn trout stream fishing and any advice for a newbie, still learning to cast properly without hooking my ear or trees, would be excellent.  I had a casting lesson by a guide already which did help.  The sad part is now im looking at buying a bass boat just to have something to do locally since stream fishing around here sucks so bad.  Only fishing i ever did before this was as a kid from the back of dads boat at nacimento with powerbait and a simple hook.