Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Dec 17th, 2017, 5:11pm
Home Help Search Login Register
[ TIDE TABLES ]  ***  [ STOCKING REPORTS ]  ***  [ BUY FISHING LICENSE ]

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
new to fishing area (Read 2582 times)
kono

new to fishing area
Oct 31st, 2006, 3:49pm

Hi everyone,  

I am originally from northern california, and am new to fishing the central coast.  I am a student at Cal Poly and live in SLO.  My fly fishing experience has been mostly in streams fishing for rainbow trout.  I have been fishing for a while, but just recently started fly fishing about a year ago.  

I'm basically looking for as much advice i can get about fishing this area. Because there doesnt seem to be any nearby streams or rivers, I would like to learn about fly fishing the local lakes.  I have a 5 weight setup, so i'd like to go for mid-size bass or large trout.

Any advice on which lakes to fish and what kind of tackle to use would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,  
Karl

Email   IP Logged
Forum Admin
YaBB Administrator

Board Administrator

Re: new to fishing area
Reply #1 - Oct 31st, 2006, 8:25pm

Hi Karl,

You've got a very nice lake just north of you, Santa Margarita Lake. It has some very good largemouth bass fishing and in the winter the trout fishing is also good. It is also a good lake for big crappie and there is always an abundance of blugill. My favorite way to fish the lake is with a kickboat. An olive wooly bugger is a good producer for everything. I also use white clousers for the bass and poppers when they are hitting the surface stuff.

Check out this report from summer:

http://www.sbflyfishers.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.pl?board=news;action=display;num=1 149631674

Joe M
WWW   IP Logged
kono

Reply #2 - Nov 1st, 2006, 1:29pm

Thanks Joe,