Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Dec 14th, 2017, 12:05am
Home Help Search Login Register
[ TIDE TABLES ]  ***  [ STOCKING REPORTS ]  ***  [ BUY FISHING LICENSE ]

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
new to fly fishing (Read 5617 times)
mstrome

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

new to fly fishing
Jul 8th, 2004, 8:20am

I am just getting started in fly fishing, and want to know if anyone out there nows of a place to get cheap used gear or anywhere to try before you by. I live in SB and there doesn't seem to be any shops in town. another thing does anyone know of a shop that has beginner classes (a little time in the class and time on the water) thanks mstrome

IP Logged
Forum Admin
YaBB Administrator

Board Administrator

Re: new to fly fishing
Reply #1 - Jul 9th, 2004, 7:24am

Welcome, mstrome, to fly fishing and this board!

Hopefully this will help you get started:

The store in town that has the most fly fishing equipment is:

Hook Line And Sinker
4010 Calle Real Ste 5
Santa Barbara, CA 93110
Phone:      (805) 687-5689

They have some (not much) at Sportmart:

Sportmart
7035 Market Place Dr
Goleta, CA 93117-5904
Phone:      (805) 968-8551  

In Oxnard there is a Sport Chalet with a fair amount of stuff, including some tying materials:

Sport Chalet
1885 E Ventura Blvd
Oxnard, CA 93030
Phone:      (805) 485-5222

The closest fly shop with people that have knowledge about fly fishing is in Thousand Oaks:

Malibu Fish'n Tackle      
3166 E Thousand Oaks Blvd
Thousand Oaks, CA 91362-3403
Phone:      (805) 496-7332

They offer classes.

There is also fly shop in Grover Beach

Hole In the Wall Fly Shop      
1543 W Grand Ave
Grover Beach, CA 93433-2226
Phone:      (805) 481-0767

If you get down to the LA area, in Orange county you can visit the "Disneyland" of fly shops:

Bob Marriott's Fly Fishing Store
2700 W Orangethorpe Ave
Fullerton, CA 92833-4212
Phone:      (714) 525-1827  

They have everything and more.